Frequently Asked Questions GA - TaxGarden 

Personal Tax FAQ

Ask us!

What if I have to prolong my Georgia tax filing?
You have an automatic six-month extension to file your Georgia Return when you receive an extension to file your Federal Return. The Georgia return must be filed along with a copy of Federal Form 4868 or the IRS confirmation letter on or before the extended Federal due date.
How to file for Georgia Extension?
Good news is that the State of Georgia honors Federal Tax Extensions, which grants an additional 6 months to file a Georgia state tax return. This applies only if the GA state return is received within the time as extended by the IRS and a copy of the federal extension(s) is attached to the return when filed.
In case, you did not get an extension for Federal, you can request for an automatic 6-month state tax extension by filing Form IT-303.
How to claim credits for taxes paid to other state?
If you claim a credit for taxes paid to another state, you must include a copy of your return filed with that state along with your Georgia return. Without it no credits for the taxes paid to other states will be acceptable.
How to Inform Address Change?
In case of address change, you may notify your address change by calling to 1-877-423-6711 or write your new address on your tax return and check the address change box.
I am a student. Do I need to file Georgia State tax return?
A student with any kind of income, such as certain scholarships or fellowships, that is taxable under federal income tax law, is also taxed by Georgia State.
How to determine if I owe Georgia tax?
If you are a Georgia Resident/ part-year resident or Non Resident for the tax year and filed a federal income tax return, or if your Georgia base income is greater than your Georgia exemption allowance, you will have to file Georgia State Return.
What credit cards can be used to pay Georgia Tax?
The Georgia Department of Revenue accepts Visa, American Express, MasterCard, and Discover credit cards for the payment of current year individual income tax due on original Forms500 and 500EZ.
I don’t owe anything to the State, why should I file a return?
If you don’t have anything that you owe to the State, you won’t be required to file a return. But, if the State owes you a refund, you must file a Georgia return to claim your refund. A refund can’t be claimed without filing your return.
I work out-of-state while I am away at college. Do I have to report that money to Georgia?
Yes. You are still a Georgia resident. Moreover, you may need to file a tax return with the other state as well so check it out with the relevant State tax department.
What is the Interest and penalty for not paying the tax on time?
Tax not paid by the statutory due date of the return is subject to 1% interest and ½ of 1 percent late payment penalty per month, or fraction thereof. Also a late filing penalty is imposd at 5% of the tax not paid by the original due date.
I am a nonresident of Georgia. Will my Unemployment Compensation be taxed?
No, Unemployment Compensation of a Nonresident Georgia tax payer is not taxable under the state.
What if my retirement income exceeds the maximum adjustable amount?
When your retirement income exceeds the maximum adjustable limit amount, it will be taxed at the normal rate for the purpose of personal State tax.
What income types are counted under retirement income exclusion?
Retirement income includes Interest Income, Dividend Income, Net Income from Rental Property, Capital Gains Income and Income from Royalties.
I have lost my refund check, how do I get a new one?
To get a replacement for a lost refund check, you may contact the Taxpayer Accounting Section at 1-877-423-6711 for support related to lost refund check.
When to make a refund enquiry?
It will take about 6 to 8 weeks for returns filed prior to April 1 or 12 weeks for returns filed after April 1. If you filed your tax return electronically, please wait for at least 2 weeks from the date you filed before making an inquiry.
When and how to know the status of my refund?
You can check the status of your individual income tax refund 24/7 by calling the Automated Refund Information Line at 1-877-423-6711.
Am I Eligible for Georgia Low Income Tax Credit?
If your Federal Adjusted Gross income is less than $20000 and you are not claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer's Federal or Georgia income tax return you are eligible to claim Low Income Tax Credit.
What are qualified expenses that can be claimed under Caregiving Expense Credit?
Qualified services include:
  • Home Health Agency Services
  • Personal Care Services
  • Personal Care Attendant Services
  • Homemaker services
  • Adult Day Care
  • Respite Care
  • Health Care Equipment and other supplies which have been determined by a physician to be medically necessary.
How to claim Georgia Clean Energy Property Credit?
To claim this personal tax credit you will have to have clean energy equipment installed and placed into service for single-family residential purposes.
What is the amount of Energy Tax Credit that can be claimed in Georgia?
Taxpayers are eligible to claim tax credit equal to 35% of the cost of the clean energy equipment (including installation).
Who is eligible for Georgia Other State Tax Credit?
If you were Georgia Resident and received any other source of Income from Nonresident State and paid taxes to your Nonresident State, then you can claim Credit on your Georgia Tax Return for taxes paid to Nonresident State.
What are the Qualified Features for Georgia Disabled Person Home Purchase or Retrofit Credit?
The above mentioned features are considered as qualified structures eligible to claim the credit.
  • One no-step entrance to home.
  • Minimum 32-inch-wide interior passage doors opening.
  • Cavalries in bathroom walls for installation of grab bars around the toilet, tub, and shower.
  • Light switches and outlets placed in reachable places.
Who is qualified to claim Georgia Disabled Person Home Purchase or Retrofit Credit?
Permanently disabled Taxpayers or spouse of taxpayer with a permanent parking permit or a special permanent parking permit from the Department of Revenue are qualified to claim the credit.
Who is qualified to claim Qualified Care giving Expense Credit?
A Qualifying Family Member who are least 62 years old or been determined disabled by the Social Security Administration are qualified to claim Care giving Expense Credit. A qualifying family member can be the taxpayer or an individual who is related to the taxpayer by blood, marriage or adoption.
What are the Qualifying disaster assistance qualified for Georgia Disaster Assistance Credit?
The following types of assistance qualify for the Credit:
  • Grants from the Department of Human Resources' Individual and Family Grant Program.
  • Grants from GEMA and/or FEMA.
  • Loans from the Small Business Administration declared by the President or Governor.
Can we claim for Georgia personal exemption when claimed as a dependent on parent’s income tax return?
When claimed by a parent on their federal return, you may still claim one exemption for yourself on your Georgia return.
What is the chance of being audited?
Individuals are usually selected on a random basis for audit. The Department of Revenue has 3 years after the filing of a return to audit a taxpayer. Tax may be audited at any time for false or fraudulent return or a return filed with the intent to evade tax, or the failure to file a return.
Can taxpayers claim dependents in their Georgia return?
If Taxpayers claim dependents on their federal return, they can also claim dependents on their Georgia return.
How to have a refund check in the name of a deceased taxpayer reissued?
Mail the Georgia Form 5347A, a copy of the death certificate, and the information specified on Form5347 along with the check to receive refund in the name of a departed taxpayer.